A candy coloured clown they call the sandman…

November 1, 2007

Sometimes I make up movie sequences in my head, and then go mad for days on end trying to find out where on earth they’re from. Most recently invented was a scene, supposedly in Blue Velvet, where Kyle Maclachlan and Laura Dern slow dance and outdoors in the dark to Otis Redding’s “I’ve Been Loving You” and the air of the film is just fraught with sex, and evil and longing. Then there’s a cut to the interior of a car, where someone is waiting, and something unrelated but bad is about to happen. I think there might be crickets in the background, and a fence. The kind of hazy recollection that Never mind that this never actually happened in the movie: it’s taken me a good half hour of googling to determine that I don’t in fact mean the scene where Kyle Maclachlan and Laura Dern dance in the actual film, and the film isn’t even remotely connected to the song.

Amusingly enough, Kyle Maclachlan is actually in a film that features the song, called Rich in Love, which looks rather heinous. It isn’t the one I’m looking for.

To make up for my blabber, a trailer for Blue Velvet:

That might not quite make up for my blabber, to be truthful… severed ears and Dennis Leary being insane might not be everyone’s cup of tea. But I find myself craving some David Lynch. Even if it doesn’t contain this scene that I’m craving.

Leave a Reply

